Home‎ > ‎Administration‎ > ‎

Board of Education

Kaleva Norman Dickson 
Board of Education Office
4400 North High Bridge Rd.
Brethren, MI 49619

Marlen Cordes - Superintendent

The Kaleva Norman Dickson School District is committed to providing quality education in beautiful, safe, clean schools. The focus of this commitment is on student achievement with a caring faculty that gives individual attention to all students. 

Parents and community are invited to continue their support to the students of the Kaleva Norman Dickson School District. We have already proved that by working together our district moves forward making good things happen.
Our School Board conducts seven types of meetings: 

  • Regular Monthly Board Meetings 
  • Budget hearings at the beginning, near the middle, and at the end of each school year. 
  • Special Meetings, scheduled in the event of special or emergency circumstances. 
  • Board workshops, where no official board action is scheduled or conducted. Rather this is a time time for board members to work together on issues, plan for the future, and find a common voice that they can share. 
  • Sub-Committee meetings of three board members meet to discuss vital issues and later report back to the entire School Board. No action is taken at these meetings. 
  • Closed sessions, usually a sub-set of a regular meeting. these meetings are not open to the public as they often deal with private information regarding a particular student or staff member. 
  • Cooperative meetings are held quarterly with two members from each our member districts. This board discusses cooperative programs and votes to make recommendations to each Board of Education.

Board Meeting Dates

Date Time Location  Agenda/Minutes
02/13/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
03/13/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
04/10/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
05/15/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
06/19/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
07/17/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
08/21/17 7:00 PM Media Center Click Here
09/11/17 7:00 PM Media Center
10/09/17 7:00 PM Media Center  
11/06/17 7:00 PM Media Center  
12/11/17 7:00 PM Media Center  
01/08/18 7:00 PM Media Center  

Board Members
Jeanette A. Somsel, President
Elected 7/1997
Expiration 12/31/2018

Heather Stapley, Vice President
Elected 5/2008
Expiration 12/31/2020

Kathleen Fairbanks, Secretary
Elected 5/2009
Expiration 12/31/2018

Karen McIntire, Treasurer
Elected: 12/2014 
Expiration: 12/31/2018

Robert Guenther, Trustee 
Elected: 12/2014 
Expiration: 12/31/2018 

William Edmondson, Trustee
Elected 12/2016
Expiration 12/2020

Ashley Gutowski, Trustee
Elected 12/2016
Expiration 12/2020